Home Page

The Early Years Curriculum

EYFS Curriculum

We plan our curriculum based around the Early Years Foundation Stage framework. This describes the seven areas of learning and development which “must be implemented through planned, purposeful play.” The framework describes three characteristics of effective teaching and learning;


  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Thinking Critically


These principles provide the bedrock to our curriculum planning. The Early Years Foundation framework is split into two key areas of learning: the prime areas and the specific areas.


The Prime Areas include:


Communication and Language

  • Listening and attention
  • Understanding
  • Speaking

Physical Development

  • Moving and Handling
  • Health and Self-Care

Personal, Social and Emotional Development

  • Self-Confidence and Self-Awareness
  • Managing Feelings and Behaviour
  • Making Relationships


The Specific Areas include:



  • Reading
  • Writing


  • Numbers
  • Shape, Space and Measures

Understanding the World

  • People and Communities
  • The World
  • Technology

Expressive Arts and Design

  • Exploring and Using Media and Materials
  • Being Imaginative

Communication, language and literacy sit at the heart of our curriculum design. We are committed to engaging our children with stories and rhymes from a very young age. A key aspect to our provision is to help children to build up a bank of tales, developing their imaginative and linguistic repertoire. The foundation if this work is fundamental to our Early Years, establishing the very roots of imaginative play and early language development through daily stories and rhymes.


Research shows the importance of children being read to at a young are to develop their early language development. Children experience quality reading, story, rhyme, talk and play on a daily basis. This is carefully planned within directed teacher led sessions and in continuous provision.